Log in



As a recognised Affiliate of the International Association for Food Protection (IAFP), the AAFP shares the same mission:

“To provide food safety professionals worldwide with a forum to exchange information on protecting the food supply.”

According to the bylaws, the objectives of AAFP will be to:

  1. Provide a forum for professionals in the area of food safety and quality.
  2. Improve the professional status of the members.
  3. Assist members in their technical work and professional development.
  4. Disseminate information regarding the protection of the food supply.
  5. Promote sanitary methods and procedures for the development, production, processing, distribution, preparation and serving of food.
  6. Promote methods and procedures for supervision and inspection of the production, processing, distribution, preparation and serving of food.
  7. Promote improved methods for the examination of food samples.
  8. Promote the development and adoption of uniform equipment and quality standards to improve the sanitary handling of food.
  9. Promote methods and procedures and improving the food supply.
  10. Cooperate with other professional groups in the improvement and promotion of food safety.

Since its formation in 2007, the Australian Association for Food Protection (AAFP) has worked to represent and support food safety professionals across Australia through activities including the organisation and running of conferences and symposia. AAFP is involved in planning future events in collaboration with the AIFST and the Australian Society for Microbiology (ASM), including the Australian Food Microbiology conference and the annual AIFST convention. The AAFP has access to the IAFP Executive Speaker program which provides support for leading food safety experts to travel to Australia and deliver presentations at events.

AAFP invites anyone with an interest in food protection/safety to attend their co-organised events and volunteer in their activities. There is no official membership of AAFP, however to be a member of the AAFP Executive Committee, full membership of IAFP is required. The AAFP has access to the Australian-based IAFP member list which will be used at times to alert them to events.

If you are interested in being involved in the AAFP committee or AAFP activities, please contact us at:

AFEA Executive Committee (2024)

  • President – Robin Sherlock, Safe Food Production Queensland 
  • Past President - Dr David Myatt, bioMerieux 
  • Secretary and IAFP Affiliate Council Delegate – Prof Mark Turner, University of Queensland 
  • AIFST Representative – Fiona Fleming, AIFST
  • Executive member – Ira Banhatti, bioMerieux 
  • Executive member – Dr SP Singh, NSW DPI
  • Executive member – Dr Andrea McWhorter, University of Adelaide
  • Executive member – Dr Ian Jensen, First Management
  • Executive member – Dr Dipon Sarkar, Victual
  • Executive member – Karen Constable, Food Fraud Advisors

┬ęCopyright 2024 Australian Institute of Food Science & Technology  |  Site by

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software